S T R U C T O R I Z E R - User Guide
Preferences > Saving

Version 3.25-11 brought new options with respect to the way diagram files are saved. These preferences are available for configuration via the Preferences menu:

Preferences menu with the Save item selected

By selecting this menu item you will obtain the following dialog:

Dialog for saving diagrams

There are two options concerning auto-saving and another option related to file backups.

Auto-save options:

Usually, Structorizer will ask you interactively whether you want to store unsaved changes to a diagram as soon as you are going to replace it by another one in Structorizer, on going to close a dependent Structorizer instance holding a "dirty" diagram etc. Sometimes these questions are raised simply for safety reasons since the changes will not necessarily get lost even if you refuse saving them now. But then the changes stay pending and you are likely to get the same question later again. This situation is particularly annoying when a diagram (with unsaved changes) being executed is going to call a subroutine. Similarly on closing Arranger or some Structorizer instances.

If you would have saved these pending changes anyway then you may avoid the hassle from version 3.25-11 on by opting for up to two situations where pending changes of affected diagrams (and only these) shall automatically be saved without extra request for commit:

  • during execution (as described above)
  • on closing a dialog holding diagrams.

Backup option:

The backup option addresses a behaviour that was introduced to avoid data losses in case an update of an existing NSD file failed. It could have happened that users ended up with an empty file. Therefore a twofold strategy was implemented: The old version of the file was renamed to <filename>.nsd.bak before the new version was saved. If you dislike the directory being filled with these backup files, then you may now opt out the creation of backup files by unselecting the checkbox "Create backup files on re-saving?". Even for the rare case that the saving might fail this is safe enough now because actually the backup file will still be produced but only automatically removed after the saving has successfully ended.